Uncategorized

Effective Communication

communicationskillsThere are several communication skills that are important to embody when leading policy change. In the article, “The 7 Cs of Communication” Mind Tools describes seven communication skills. I have found two of these to be extremely helpful and important. When trying to convey a concept it is important to ensure your communication is concrete and coherent.

communication-skills

Being concrete is vital. Mind Tools explains, “When your message is concrete, then your audience has a clear picture of what you’re telling them. There are details (but not too many!) and vivid facts, and there’s laser-like focus” (Mind Tools, 2013). For most of us, time is a precious commodity. When communicating to invoke change it is important to stay focused and on subject. By doing so we ensure our point is conveyed and we are respectful of the audience time. When the audience has heard your message there should never be any doubt what your message was.

communicate publicBeing coherent is just as important. “When your communication is coherent, it’s logical. All points are connected and relevant to the main topic, and the tone and flow of the text is consistent” (Mind Tools, 2013). As with being concrete, ensuring your communication is coherent allows your audience to know exactly what your point is. When trying to advocate for change the first most important goal is to educate others as to your mission. Your audience must understand your goal and why it is important.

Personally, I have found being concrete easier than being coherent. Keeping all of my points relevant to the main topic is difficult at times. It is one of the reasons I like using a Power Point presentation when speaking to groups. The slides may simply be a picture and/or a few key words. They serve to keep me focused and on track.

publicspeakingfearWhen taking the Communication Anxiety Inventory I was not surprised with the results. I suffer great anxiety when addressing a new group of people prior to the presentation. Once I get started I am fine and comfortable as long as I feel passionate about the subject I am speaking about. Passion about your subject matter is a key element to public speaking I learned from an instructor many many years ago. It was my first public speaking class and I was petrified at the idea of speaking in front of the class. As luck would have it I was assigned a topic I felt very strongly about. My mother had died a few months prior. After being resuscitated she was placed on life support. Although she had signed a “Do Not Resuscitate” order it was not noted in her chart. I was assigned the topic of the right to determine one’s own medical terms. As you can imagine I was very passionate about the topic. I got an A. Once I got in front of the group any and all anxiety was gone. My only thoughts were of convincing this group of people my important message. Passion can, however, get you in trouble and take you off track if you are not careful.

communicate public

References

Laureate Education (Producer). (2011). Communication anxiety [Interactive media]. Retrieved from https://class.waldenu.edu

Mind Tools. (n.d.). The 7 Cs of communication: A checklist for clear communication. Retrieved October 15, 2013, from http://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/newCS_85.htm 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Effective Communication

  1. Pingback: Effective Communication | marjorieakins

  2. Brittini says:

    I know exactly what you mean when it comes to getting anxiety when speaking in front of a group of people. Everyone thinks that I can speak in front of anyone because I am a teacher but they do not understand the difference between speaking in front of children and in front of adults. Being coherent is very important because I myself do not like when people go all around the world instead of getting straight to the point. Great post!!

  3. Chassidy says:

    I too find it easy to speak in front of others when I am passionate about the subject. Whenever I have to speak in front of a large crowd, I focus on relating the information to a personal experience.

  4. Being Passionate about a subject/topic also makes you a better presenter. When you are passionate you become alive and full of energy and excitement.

    There is a big difference in speaking to parents and children. With children you can make mistakes and keep going with parents you can not. Parents take a little longer to interpret and understand.

    • So true Angela. We could learn a lot from the children. In general, many people take some things way to seriously. Communication is a two way street. We must ensure when we are communicating the receiver is getting the correct message.

Leave a comment